NCAA Division I-AA Football Championship

The NCAA Division I-AA Football Championship is an American college football tournament played each year to determine the champion of the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). Prior to 2006, the game was known as the NCAA Division I-AA Football Championship. The FCS is the highest division in college football to hold a playoff tournament sanctioned by the NCAA to determine its champion. The four-team playoff system used by the Bowl Subdivision (beginning with the 2014 season) is not sanctioned by the NCAA.

The reigning national champions are the North Dakota State Bison, who have won four consecutive Championship games. They are the first FCS team to win four consecutive titles and only the second team to do so in College Football history, the other being Augustana (Illinois) who won four consecutive Division III titles from 1983 to 1986. The Bison have also appeared in four straight championship games, one of only three teams to accomplish that feat.

Show Info

Network: United States ESPN2 (1978 - now)
Schedule: Saturdays at 12:00 (210 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Sports

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

View full episode list »

Extra Details

Also known as:
  • DI-AA Championship (United States United States)
  • D1-AA Championship (United States United States)
  • NCAA D1-AA Championship (United States United States)