One Day at a Time - Episode Guide

Season 1

This Is It

Episode: 1x01 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

This Is It

Penelope tries to convince her feminist daughter Elena to have a traditional quinceañera to celebrate her 15th birthday and to honor her Cuban roots.

Bobos and Mamitas

Episode: 1x02 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

When Penelope and Elena complain about not being taken seriously as women at work and school, Lydia offers advice from an older generation.

No Mass

Episode: 1x03 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

When Lydia disappears after a heated argument with her daughter about religion, the smooth running of the household falls apart in her absence.

A Snowman's Tale

Episode: 1x04 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Penelope suddenly finds herself back in the dating game after Schneider shows her how to use an online app for meeting people.


Episode: 1x05 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Lydia grows suspicious of Elena and Carmen's intense relationship. Penelope later discovers that the inseparable friends are keeping a big secret.

The Death of Mrs. Resnick

Episode: 1x06 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

When Penelope's faithful car finally breaks down for good and she's forced to trade it in, she meets a kindred spirit in the unlikeliest of places.

Hold, Please

Episode: 1x07 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

While navigating her way through an endless maze of red tape with Veterans Affairs to make a medical appointment, Penelope reaches her breaking point.

One Lie at a Time

Episode: 1x08 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Penelope tells her family she has a date and Lydia says she's going to church, but each secretly goes elsewhere. Meanwhile, Elena tests an attraction.

Viva Cuba

Episode: 1x09 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Elena gets a congratulatory letter that leaves a bitter taste in her mouth. For a school project, Alex interviews Lydia, who reveals a family secret.

Sex Talk

Episode: 1x10 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

When Penelope finds porn on Alex's laptop, she struggles to talk to him about sex, but their reluctant conversation leads to a surprising discovery.

Pride & Prejudice

Episode: 1x11 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Although she wants to be accepting and open-minded, Penelope feels weird about Elena's revelation. Seeking advice, she makes an unexpected connection.

Hurricane Victor

Episode: 1x12 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Just when Penelope starts to date again, her estranged husband Victor makes a surprise visit home that rekindles old feelings between them.


Episode: 1x13 | Airdate: Jan 6, 2017

Everyone pitches in to prepare for Elena's Quinceañera. While rehearsing their father-daughter dance, Elena reveals a truth about herself to her dad.