Blott on the Landscape

Blott on the Landscape is a novel by Tom Sharpe which was first published in 1975. The book was adapted into a 6-part television series for BBC television in 1985.

The story revolves around the proposed construction of a motorway through Cleene Gorge in rural South Worfordshire, a fictional gorge in a fictional English county.

At one end of Cleene Gorge is Handyman Hall; the home of the politician Sir Giles Lynchwood and his wife Lady Maud Lynchwood.

Sir Giles is secretly in favour of ensuring that the motorway passes through the Cleene Gorge (and is actually the originator of the plan) as it will mean he will be paid the compensation for the destruction of Handyman Hall, which is under a covenant preventing its sale. While superficially pretending to be supportive he takes steps to undermine the inquiry and prevent alternatives being adopted, to ensure the new road travels through the Gorge. By contrast, Lady Maud's family has lived in the gorge for over 500 years, and she is fiercely defensive of her heritage and expects Giles to support her.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Two (1985 - 1985)
Schedule: Wednesdays (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama Comedy
Episodes ordered: 6 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Episode 6

Episode 1x06; Mar 13, 1985

Attempting to flee the grounds Sir Giles is pounced upon and killed by a lion,his offshore investments leaving Lady Maud a very rich widow. Blott,meanwhile,who has squirrelled away a substantial amount of ammunition,barricades himself in the gatehous

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: Episode 6Mar 13, 1985
1x05: Episode 5Mar 6, 1985
1x04: Episode 4Feb 27, 1985
View full episode list »