The Living Planet

The Living Planet was a BBC nature documentary series written and presented by David Attenborough. It aired on BBC One in the UK from 19th January - 6th April 1984. The sequel to his pioneering Life on Earth, it is a study of the ways in which living organisms, including humans, adapt to their surroundings. Each episode featured a different environment from around the globe.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1984 - 1984)
Schedule: Thursdays at 20:05 (50 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: Nature
Episodes ordered: 12 episodes

Official site:

(not enough votes yet)

Previous Episode

New Worlds

Episode 1x12; Apr 6, 1984

David Attenborough looks at the damage we are causing far away from our centres of population - to the oceans, the atmosphere and the tropical rainforests. And he suggests what should be done to safeguard the future of our living planet.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x12: New WorldsApr 6, 1984
1x11: The Open OceanMar 29, 1984
1x10: Worlds ApartMar 22, 1984
View full episode list »