Catherine Cookson's A Dinner of Herbs

Six-part series set in Northumberland and based on the novel by Catherine Cookson. GB. A Festival Film and Television/Tyne Tees TV production. Roddy Greenbank was brought by his father to the remote Northumberland community of Langley in the autumn of 1807. Within hours of their arrival, however, the father had met a violent death, and the boy was left with all memory gone of his past life. Adopted and raised by old Kate Makepeace, Roddy found his closest companions in Hal Roystan and Mary Ellen Lee. These three stand at the heart of a richly eventful narrative that spans the first half of the nineteenth century, their lives lastingly intertwined by the inexorable demands of a strange and somewhat cruel destiny.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom ITV (2000 - 2000)
Schedule: Fridays at 21:30 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted

(not enough votes yet)

Previous Episode

Part 6

Episode 1x06; Dec 24, 2000

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: Part 6Dec 24, 2000
1x05: Part 5Dec 22, 2000
1x04: Part 4Dec 15, 2000
View full episode list »