The Victorian Kitchen Garden

The Victorian Kitchen Garden goes behind the walls of Chilton Foliat in Berkshire, where Harry Dodson carefully recreates a traditional Victorian Kitchen Garden. Using traditional tools Harry painstakingly transformed the weed-choked ground into a gardener's and cook's delight solving many horticultural mysteries along the way and showing how gardeners dealt with pests and how they grew exotic fruits and vegetables for the household all year round.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Two (1987 - 1987)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 19:40 (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Reality
Episodes ordered: 13 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode


Episode 1x13; Dec 9, 1987

Christmas occupies much of the head gardener's time. Harry ensures he has a plentiful supply of produce for the festive meals by stockpiling well in advance. In the forcing house chicory and rhubarb are ready, and in the glasshouse there are prized p

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x13: DecemberDec 9, 1987
1x12: NovemberDec 2, 1987
1x11: OctoberNov 25, 1987
View full episode list »