Sleuths, Spies & Sorcerers: Andrew Marr's Paperback Heroes

Andrew Marr deconstructs detective fiction, fantasy epics and spy novels - the books we really read. He unpicks their conventions to show how these books keep us turning the page.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC Four (2016 - now)
Schedule: Mondays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: To Be Determined
Show Type: Documentary
Episodes ordered: 3 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode


Episode 1x03; Oct 31, 2016

In the final episode, Andrew Marr reveals the secrets of the British spy novel – a genre steeped in betrayal and paranoia, developed by writers who were usually spooks themselves.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x03: SpiesOct 31, 2016
1x02: FantasyOct 24, 2016
1x01: DetectivesOct 17, 2016
View full episode list »