Secret Life of the Hospital Bed

Secret Life of the Hospital Bed is a unique 15-part series where across each episode, fixed-rig cameras tell the story of patients who enter four different hospitals across the country.

The hospitals are Royal Victoria Infirmary in Newcastle, Queens Hospital in Romford, Queen Elizabeth Hospital in Birmingham and the Great Northern Children's Hospital in Newcastle. The circumstances, the ailment, the treatment, the length of stay - everything is personal to the individual involved but the one constant throughout is the bed.

With over 150,000 currently in use across the NHS, hospital beds witness the most important moments of our lives. Filmed over five weeks, the series features four hospitals and one of the beds in their units including: A&E, Maternity, Day Surgery and Paediatrics.

Every patient who enters hospital has a different story to tell of how and why they are there. The unique nature of the access means that viewers see the ways in which patients and staff interact, shining a spotlight onto the vital work carried out by the hospital's dedicated staff members, and giving an intimate and heart-warming portrayal of life, death, and everything in-between inside Britain's hospitals.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (2016 - now)
Schedule: Weekdays at 11:00 (45 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: Medical
Episodes ordered: 5 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Episode 5

Episode 3x05; Jun 16, 2017

At Birmingham's Queen Elizabeth Hospital, 73-year-old Peter arrives for a biopsy because doctors are worried that his prostate cancer may have spread to his bladder. At the Great North's Children's Hospital, six-month-old Ehtesham has been rushed in

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
3x05: Episode 5Jun 16, 2017
3x04: Episode 4Jun 15, 2017
3x03: Episode 3Jun 14, 2017
View full episode list »