Gemma Palmer is 30 years old, and fed up with being betrayed and taken for granted. She's just found out her boyfriend, Danny, has been having sex with her friend, Gloria, and this is the last straw. She throws Danny out, tells Gloria to go jump in a lake, tells off all the people who have been treating her like a doormat, and quits her boring job at an estate agent's. From now on, she's going solo. At least, that is her firm intention... As in her other sitcoms (e.g., Liver Birds, Butterflies, Bread), Carla Lane uses the "situation" here as a vehicle for character portrayal (rather than development). Lyrical, reflective moments of whimsical and wry dialogue succeed each other episodically.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1981 - 1982)
Schedule: Sundays (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Comedy
Episodes ordered: 7 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Episode 7

Episode 2x07; Oct 17, 1982

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
2x07: Episode 7Oct 17, 1982
2x06: Episode 6Oct 10, 1982
2x05: Episode 5Oct 3, 1982
View full episode list »