NCAA Division II Football Championship

The NCAA Division II Football Championship is the Division II NCAA Football Game that is played every year in December to determine the National Champion of College Football's Division II level. It was first held in 1973. Prior to 1973, four regional bowl games were played in order to provide postseason action for what was then called the "NCAA College Division" and a poll determined the final champion. The National Championship game was held at Sacramento, California from 1973 to 1975. It was in Wichita Falls, Texas in 1976 and 1977. The game was played in Longview, Texas in 1978. For 1979 and 1980, Albuquerque, New Mexico hosted the game. McAllen, Texas hosted the championship games from 1981 to 1985. From 1986 to 2013, the Division II championship game was played at Braly Municipal Stadium near the campus of the University of North Alabama in Florence, Alabama. Between 2014 and 2017, the championship game will be played at Children's Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kansas.[1] Since 1994 the games have been broadcast on ESPN.

Show Info

Airs on: United States ESPN2 (1973 - now)
Schedule: Saturdays at 16:00 (180 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Sports

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

View full episode list »