Russell Athletic Bowl

The Russell Athletic Bowl is an annual college football bowl game that is played in Orlando, Florida, at the Orlando Citrus Bowl Stadium. The bowl is operated by Florida Citrus Sports, a non-profit group which also organizes the Citrus Bowl and Florida Classic. The bowl was founded in 1990 by Raycom and was originally played at Joe Robbie Stadium outside of the city of Miami. It went by the name Blockbuster Bowl, CarQuest Bowl, and the MicronPC Bowl. In 2001, the bowl changed hands, and was relocated to Orlando. The bowl briefly became known as the Tangerine Bowl, a historic moniker, which was the original title of the game now known as the Citrus Bowl. Foot Locker, the parent company of Champs Sports, purchased naming rights in 2004, naming it the Champs Sports Bowl. On June 18, 2012, naming rights were purchased by Russell Athletic for the 2012–2015 games. The game currently has tie-ins with the ACC and Big 12.

Show Info

Airs on: United States ESPN (1990 - now)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 17:30 (210 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Sports

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

View full episode list »

Extra Details

Also known as:
  • Champs Sports Bowl (United States United States)
  • Tangerine Bowl (United States United States)
  • MicronPC Bowl (United States United States)
  • CarQuest Bowl (United States United States)
  • Blockbuster Bowl (United States United States)
View all AKAs »