Independent Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirit Awards (originally known as the FINDIE or Friends of Independents Awards), founded in 1984, are awards dedicated to independent filmmakers. Winners were typically presented with acrylic glass pyramids containing suspended shoestrings representing the paltry budgets of independent films. In 1986, the event was renamed the Independent Spirit Awards. The Independent Spirit Awards are presented by Film Independent, a non-profit organization dedicated to independent film and independent filmmakers. In 2007, the ceremony was slightly changed to Film Independent's Spirit Awards. Since 2006, winners have received a trophy depicting a bird sitting atop of a pole with the shoestrings from the previous design wrapped around the pole.

The awards show was previously held inside a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, California, usually on the day before the Academy Awards (since 1999; originally the Saturday before). Since 1994, the show has been broadcast on the Bravo network and Independent Film Channel. The 31st Independent Spirit Awards ceremony, celebrating the films of 2015, will be held on February 26, 2016.

Show Info

Airs on: United States IFC (1986 - now)
Schedule: Saturdays at 17:00 (150 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Award Show
Episodes ordered: 1 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Independent Spirit Awards 2017

Episode 2017-02-25; Feb 25, 2017

Independent filmmakers are honored and it's the best and only awards show held on a beach; Nick Kroll and John Mulaney host.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
2017-02-25: Independent Spirit Awards 2017Feb 25, 2017
2016-02-27: Independent Spirit Awards 2016Feb 27, 2016
2015-02-21: Independent Spirit Awards 2015Feb 21, 2015
View full episode list »


Extra Details

Also known as:
  • Film Independent Spirit Awards (United States United States)
View all AKAs »