Doctor Finlay

Doctor Finlay is a British television series based on A. J. Cronin's stories about the fictional hero, Dr. Finlay.

It is a follow-up to Dr. Finlay's Casebook, the successful BBC series and takes place in the 1940s after John Finlay returns from war service. Early storylines include the setting up of the new National Health Service and the modernisation of the medical practice at Arden House, Tannochbrae, Scotland.

The show stars David Rintoul as Dr. Finlay, Ian Bannen as his semi-retired practice partner, Dr. Cameron, and Annette Crosbie as his housekeeper, Janet. Other central characters include Finlay's assistant, Dr. Neil, played by Jason Flemyng and Finlay's new partner, Dr. Napier, played by Jessica Turner.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom ITV (1993 - 1996)
Schedule: Sundays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama
Episodes ordered: 8 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode


Episode 4x08; Dec 20, 1996

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
4x08: SnowblindDec 20, 1996
4x07: Still WatersMay 12, 1996
4x06: The Life of MenMay 5, 1996
View full episode list »