The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man

The First Eden: The Mediterranean World and Man is a four part documentary series written and presented by David Attenborough that was first broadcast on BBC Two in 1987.

Each episode describes man's relationship with the natural habitats of the Mediterranean, and is a glorious portrait of the landscape, wildlife and plants of the Mediterranean. From the earliest human settlements to the cities of today, from the forests of the North African shore and the Middle East to Southern Europe, this series tells the dramatic story of man and nature at work.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Two (1987 - 1987)
Schedule: Sundays at 19:45 (50 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: Nature
Episodes ordered: 4 episodes

Official site:

(not enough votes yet)

Previous Episode

Strangers in the Garden

Episode 1x04; Mar 29, 1987

The discovery of the New World & the cutting of the Suez Canal intro'd new species to the Mediterranean.Population pressures continue to ravage the land & pollute the sea-yet wildlife still survives.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x04: Strangers in the GardenMar 29, 1987
1x03: The Wastes of WarMar 22, 1987
1x02: The Gods EnslavedMar 15, 1987
View full episode list »