The Trials of Life: A Natural History of Behaviour

The Trials of Life: A Natural History of Behaviour was a BBC nature documentary series written and presented by David Attenborough, first transmitted in the United Kingdom in October 1990.

A study in animal behaviour, each of the twelve 50-minute episodes features a different aspect of the journey through life, from birth to adulthood and continuation of the species through reproduction.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1990 - 1990)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 20:00 (50 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: Nature
Episodes ordered: 12 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Continuing the Line

Episode 1x12; Dec 20, 1990

David Attenborough looks at the many and varied ways that animals ensure their genes are passed on to the next generation.Creatures will go to any lengths in order to make babies - to continue the line by passing on genes is the ultimate triumph.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x12: Continuing the LineDec 20, 1990
1x11: CourtingDec 13, 1990
1x10: Talking to StrangersDec 6, 1990
View full episode list »