The Secret Service

The Secret Service was a British children's espionage television series.

The series follows the adventures of Father Stanley Unwin, the parish priest of a rural English village. Affecting the appearance of an eccentric middle-aged vicar, Unwin moonlights as a secret agent for BISHOP (British Intelligence Service Headquarters, Operation Priest), a top-secret division of British Intelligence based in Whitehall. Answering to his superior, "The Bishop", Unwin is stationed at his vicarage with Matthew Harding – another agent who, when not assisting the Father on missions, adopts the manner of a simple gardener. Supporting characters include Blake, a junior BISHOP operative, and Mrs Appleby, the Father's ageing housekeeper, who is unaware of Unwin and Harding's involvement with British Intelligence.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom ITV (1969 - 1969)
Schedule: Sundays (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Animation
Genres: Adventure Children Espionage
Episodes ordered: 13 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

More Haste, Less Speed

Episode 1x13; Dec 14, 1969

Lord and Lady Hazlewell and their associate, Spiker, greet ex-convict Mullins at their manor. The deceased Lord Hazlewell Senior bequeathed one of two plates previously used to print counterfeit dollar bills; the second is revealed to be hidden at Gr

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x13: More Haste, Less SpeedDec 14, 1969
1x12: May-Day, May-Day!Dec 7, 1969
1x11: School for SpiesNov 30, 1969
View full episode list »