Seven Ages of Britain

In an ambitious and fascinating series, David Dimbleby reveals the seven great ages of British culture, uncovering and exploring over a thousand years of extraordinary artistic achievement. Fresh, rich and full of vivid insights into the triumphs and tragedies of the national past, the stories unfold through an incredible collection of Treasures: From Shakespeare's plays to colonial architecture in India. Pre-independence through to 1st world war poster art are all covered in this fascinating new series.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (2010 - 2010)
Schedule: Sundays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: History
Episodes ordered: 7 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Age of Ambition

Episode 1x07; Mar 21, 2010

In the last episode, David Dimbleby looks at how the 20th century saw ordinary Britons upturning ancient power structures and class hierarchies. The catalyst was the First World War, which embroiled the whole nation and called traditional values into

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x07: Age of AmbitionMar 21, 2010
1x06: Age of EmpireMar 14, 2010
1x05: Age of MoneyMar 7, 2010
View full episode list »