Quatermass and the Pit

The series continues the loose chronology of the Quatermass adventures, and begins with Professor Bernard Quatermass being forced out of his role at the British Experimental Rocket Group, with the organisation being passed into military control by the British Government. Quatermass and his new colleague Colonel Breen become involved in the discovery of a bizarre object at an archaeological dig in Knightsbridge, London. As the serial progresses, Quatermass and his associates find that the contents of the object have a horrific influence over many of those who come into contact with it. As this influence increases, affecting Quatermass himself, darker implications are revealed about the entire nature and origins of mankind.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1958 - 1959)
Schedule: Mondays (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama Science-Fiction Thriller
Episodes ordered: 6 episodes

Official site: www.bbc.co.uk

(not enough votes yet)

Previous Episode


Episode 1x06; Jan 26, 1959

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: HobJan 26, 1959
1x05: The Wild HuntJan 19, 1959
1x04: The EnchantedJan 12, 1959
View full episode list »