The Staircase tells the compelling story of Michael Peterson, a crime novelist accused of killing his wife Kathleen after she is found dead at the bottom of a staircase in their home, and the 16 year judicial battle that followed.

The series follows the entire case from the first few days after Kathleen's death to its unbelievable conclusion in court. Get unprecedented access to the defendant and his team of lawyers, investigators and forensics experts as they react to every surprise revelation and astonishing accusation. And see the controversial events through the eyes of the unusual family battling for their father's life. Will the jury believe Peterson's an innocent man or condemn him as a cold-blooded killer? Each staggering twist will keep you guessing right up to the final verdict.

Show Info

Streamed on: Netflix (2004 - now)
Schedule: Thursdays (60 min)
Status: Running; returning 2018
Language: French
Show Type: Documentary
Episodes ordered: 10 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Last Chance - Final Appeal

Episode 1x10; Mar 3, 2013

A revelation opens the door for Michael Peterson's appeal. The prosecution's blood spatter expert has been outed as a fraud, and the defense team seeks a retrial.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x10: Last Chance - Final AppealMar 3, 2013
1x09: Last Chance - Reopening the CaseMar 3, 2013
1x08: Le verdictOct 28, 2004
View full episode list »