Fortunes of War

British seven part mini series based on the book by Olivia Manning.

As the second world war breaks out in 1939, Guy and Harriet Pringle are living in Bucharest, the capital of Romania. As the Germans advance, they have to escape, first to Greece and then on to Egypt - but the war keeps on following them.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1987 - 1987)
Schedule: Sundays at 21:05 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

January 1943

Episode 1x07; Nov 22, 1987

Neglected by Guy and weakened by illness, Harriet decided to return to England. Unknown to Guy, she changed her mind and on a last-minute impulse set off for Damascus instead. Meanwhile in Cairo, news came that the ship Harriet was to have sailed on

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x07: January 1943Nov 22, 1987
1x06: Autumn 1942Nov 15, 1987
1x05: April 1941Nov 8, 1987
View full episode list »