Vanity Fair

"I am poor and put upon", concedes Becky Sharp during the first episode of Vanity Fair, but it rapidly becomes clear that she intends to change this situation, scrambling up the social ladder by exploiting her guile, good looks and the gullibility of doting males. In the light of her selfish, single-minded resolve to achieve success, Sharp may be viewed as an optimistic dreamer, pragmatic schemer, proto-feminist or a coquettish combination of all three.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1998 - 1998)
Schedule: Sundays (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama Romance
Episodes ordered: 6 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Part 6

Episode 1x06; Dec 6, 1998

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: Part 6Dec 6, 1998
1x05: Part 5Nov 29, 1998
1x04: Part 4Nov 22, 1998
View full episode list »