Sense and Sensibility

BBC's 1971 4-part adaptation of Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility. The story revolves around Elinor and Marianne, two daughters of Mr. Dashwood by his second wife. They have a younger sister, Margaret, and an older half-brother named John. When their father dies, the family estate passes to John, and the Dashwood women are left in reduced circumstances. The novel follows the Dashwood sisters to their new home, a cottage on a distant relative's property, where they experience both romance and heartbreak. The contrast between the sisters' characters is eventually resolved as they each find love and lasting happiness. Through the events in the novel, Elinor and Marianne find a balance between sense (or pure logic) and sensibility (or pure emotion) in life and love.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1971 - 1971)
Runtime: 45 minutes
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x04: Episode 4: ResolutionJan 30, 1971
1x03: Episode 3: Sisters in MisfortuneJan 23, 1971
1x02: Episode 2: A Parting and A JourneyJan 16, 1971
View full episode list »