Spirit of Asia

A series of eight films in which David Attenborough goes to India and South-East Asia, to the countries where the worlds most ancient religions and art-forms have miraculously survived into the 20th century, and where today they persist with strength and vitality, an indispensable part of daily life.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Two (1980 - 1980)
Schedule: Sundays at 19:45 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Episodes ordered: 8 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Land of a Million Buddhas

Episode 1x08; Mar 2, 1980

In Thailand may be found, at one and the same time, the most up-to-date forms of cultural life in south-east Asia, and the most ancient. It is a land of startling contrasts. Beside hotels and massage parlours stand miniature temples like oriental dol

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x08: Land of a Million BuddhasMar 2, 1980
1x07: God-Kings of AngkorFeb 24, 1980
1x06: Artists in ExileFeb 17, 1980
View full episode list »