Try 30 days of free premium.

Stephen Fry in Central America - Episode Guide

Season 1


Episode: 1x01 | Airdate: Aug 27, 2015

No image (yet).

In episode one, Stephen begins his journey on the Sante Bridge separating El Paso in Texas from Ciudad Juarez in Mexico, an important transit point for the drug cartels and considered one of the most dangerous cities in Mexico.

He boards the converted school bus he'll be travelling on, to avoid attracting the attention of the locals and heads towards Chihuahua. En route, his driver takes him to see some of the local cowboys before he experiences the enduring patriotism of a local hero, the revolutionary Pancho Villa, who lead the Army of the North, in the revolutionary war of 1914.

Belize to Guatemala

Episode: 1x02 | Airdate: Sep 3, 2015

No image (yet).

In episode two, Stephen's journey continues through Belize and Guatemala. Belize is the only country in Central America to have been a British colony. It has English as its official language and the Queen is head of state.

At Wildtracks Animal Rescue Centre in Belize City, Stephen learns how to bottle-feed an injured baby manatee before meeting up with the last vestiges of the British Army.

El Salvador to Nicaragua

Episode: 1x03 | Airdate: Sep 10, 2015

No image (yet).

In episode three, Stephen's journey continues from Salvador to Nicaragua, as he crosses over from Guatemala into El Salvador then moves onto Honduras and Nicaragua. Along the way, Stephen tries his hand at surfing, tastes a new breed of banana, meets a real life Sweeney Todd and learns to do the maypole.

Costa Rica to Panama

Episode: 1x04 | Airdate: Sep 17, 2015

No image (yet).

In episode four, Stephen's journey continues through Costa Rica and Panama. In Costa Rica he discovers a country, which is a marked contrast to the rest of Central America. With no army or civil wars it boasts a stable democracy with an enviable living standard that has propelled it to the top of the UN Happiness Index.

Try 30 days of free premium.