The Crown - Episode Guide

Season 1

Wolferton Splash

Episode: 1x01 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Wolferton Splash

A young Princess Elizabeth marries Prince Philip. As King George VI's health worsens, Winston Churchill is elected prime minister for the second time.

Hyde Park Corner

Episode: 1x02 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Hyde Park Corner

With King George too ill to travel, Elizabeth and Philip embark on a four-continent Commonwealth tour. Party leaders attempt to undermine Churchill.


Episode: 1x03 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016


With Elizabeth in new role, Philip tries to assert some power. Churchill wants to delay the coronation. King George's disgraced brother arrives.

Act of God

Episode: 1x04 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Act of God

When dense smog cripples London for days and creates a serious health hazard, Churchill's inaction leaves him vulnerable to his political enemies.

Smoke and Mirrors

Episode: 1x05 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Smoke and Mirrors

Elizabeth rejects protocol by appointing Philip to coordinate her coronation, but his ideas create conflict. The Duke of Windsor returns to London.


Episode: 1x06 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016


Margaret and Peter come to Elizabeth with a request. With a royal scandal about to break in the newspapers, the Queen Mother intervenes.

Scientia Potentia Est

Episode: 1x07 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Scientia Potentia Est

As the Soviets test the H-bomb, both Churchill and Eden have major health crises. Angry about her inadequate education, Elizabeth hires a tutor.

Pride and Joy

Episode: 1x08 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016

Pride and Joy

Elizabeth and Philip go on an exhausting world journey. Margaret takes over some of her sister's official duties and tries to liven things up.


Episode: 1x09 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016


As tensions with Philip increase, Elizabeth spends time with her old friend Porchey. Churchill's portrait is painted for his 80th birthday.


Episode: 1x10 | Airdate: Nov 4, 2016


Margaret and Peter are reunited, but another obstacle stands in their way. Elizabeth is torn between her duty as Queen and her love for her sister.

Season 2


Episode: 2x01 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

As Philip leaves for a long tour, Elizabeth makes an upsetting discovery. Prime Minister Eden wants to strike back after Egypt seizes the Suez Canal.

A Company of Men

Episode: 2x02 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

Elizabeth feels disconnected from Philip. Eden copes with international pressure and ill health. An interview stirs up harrowing memories for Philip.


Episode: 2x03 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

Palace insiders try to prevent a scandal that could reflect poorly on Philip. Eden faces censure from his cabinet and the press.


Episode: 2x04 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

When Elizabeth and Philip throw a grand party for their 10th anniversary, both Margaret and the new Prime Minister experience romantic tribulations.


Episode: 2x05 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

After Elizabeth makes a tone-deaf speech at a Jaguar factory, she and the monarchy come under public attack by an outspoken lord.


Episode: 2x06 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

A secret World War II document opens Elizabeth's eyes to grim realities about a family member. The Duke of Windsor campaigns to re-enter public life.


Episode: 2x07 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

A letter from Peter Townsend spurs Margaret to make a bold proposal. Elizabeth has good news that causes complications for Margaret.

Dear Mrs. Kennedy

Episode: 2x08 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

Dear Mrs. Kennedy

Inspired by Jackie Kennedy and against her government's wishes, Elizabeth takes an unconventional approach to resolving an issue with Ghana.


Episode: 2x09 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

Philip insist that Prince Charles attend his alma mater in Scotland and reminisces about the life-changing difficulties he experienced there.

Mystery Man

Episode: 2x10 | Airdate: Dec 8, 2017

A salacious government scandal hits close to home for Elizabeth and Philip. Elizabeth retreats to Scotland for the rest of a difficult pregnancy.