Death and Nightingales

Based on Eugene McCabe's modern Irish classic, Death and Nightingales is a riveting story of love, betrayal, deception and revenge, set in the beautiful haunting countryside of Fermanagh in 1885. A place where neighbours observe each other and inform, a world of spies, confessions and double dealing; where a pervading sense of beauty is shot through with menace and impending doom.

Set over a desperately tense 24-hour period, it's Beth Winters' 25th birthday - the day she has decided to join the charming Liam Ward and escape from her limited life and difficult and complex relationship with her Protestant landowner stepfather Billy. As decades of pain and betrayal finally build to a devastating climax, Death and Nightingales is a powerful and gripping drama that follows a woman struggling to control her own destiny and will illuminate tensions that tear both families and nations apart.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC Two (2018 - 2018)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama Romance
Episodes ordered: 3 episodes

Official site:

6.4 (11 votes)

Previous Episode

Episode 3

Episode 1x03; Dec 12, 2018

Planning on eloping with Ward, Beth steals Billy's gold and leaves. The Dummy stops her and issues a dire warning. Who is out to hurt her and why? Beth will have her vengeance.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x03: Episode 3Dec 12, 2018
1x02: Episode 2Dec 5, 2018
1x01: Episode 1Nov 28, 2018
View full episode list »


Extra Details

Also known as:
  • Halál és fülemülék (Hungary Hungary)
  • Moartea și privighetorile (Romania Romania)