Portrait Artist of the Year

"Portrait Artist of the Year" is hosted by UK TV personalities Joan Bakewell and Frank Skinner; an esteemed group of judges travel across the Europe in search of a new star in the art world. Each episode features a regional competition where artists are shortlisted and challenged to produce a portrait of one of three famous sitters. At the end of each round, the judges select an artist to go to the semifinal. The finalists will have their work displayed at the world-famous National Portrait Gallery in London and the winner will receive a £10,000 commission to paint a portrait which will become part of the permanent collection at the British Library.

With judges and onlookers examining their every move, the artists face new challenges at each phase of the competition while painting such famous "sitters" as Sir Ian McKellen, Hilary Mantel, John Hannah, Sophie Turner, Simon Weston, Sophie Dahl, Maisie Williams, John Humphrys, Julian Fellowes, Richard Dawkins and Alan Cumming.

Previous Episode

Episode 5

Episode 3x05; Feb 21, 2017

Musician Rick Wakeman, Hairy Biker Dave Myers and singer Katie Kissoon are the sitters awaiting a new group of portrait artists as the competition continues.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
3x05: Episode 5Feb 21, 2017
3x04: Episode 4Feb 14, 2017
3x03: Episode 3Feb 7, 2017
View full episode list »