The Secret Life of Books

Classic books are considered with a fresh eye. Returning to the authors' original manuscripts and letters, expert writers and performers bring their personal insights to these great works.

In the new series of The Secret Life of Books, we explore another eclectic selection of literary masterpieces: a memoir of drug addiction, an epic Elizabethan poem, a collection of nonsense verse, a Victorian classic, a children's adventure tale, and a nostalgic hymn to rural life.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Four (2014 - 2016)
Schedule: Mondays at 20:00 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Episodes ordered: 2 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

The Water-Babies

Episode 3x02; Jul 11, 2016

Written in 1862 by the Reverend Charles Kingsley, The Water-Babies tells the story of a young chimney sweep called Tom who finds redemption amongst the pulsing life of the open ocean when he is transformed into an aquatic creature. Church of England

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
3x02: The Water-BabiesJul 11, 2016
3x01: Five Children and ItJul 4, 2016
2x06: Swallows and AmazonsNov 17, 2015
View full episode list »