Goodnight Sweetheart

Gary Sparrow is an underachieving TV repairman, unhappily married to the loud and often mocking Yvonne Sparrow. However, Gary's life is changed forever upon discovering a time portal taking him back to a war-torn London, leading to an East End pub (the Royal Oak) and an attractive barmaid named Phoebe, who becomes his girlfriend. From then on, Gary leads a double life, going back and forth across time to please the two women in his life closest to his heart, but furthest apart.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1993 - 1999)
Schedule: Mondays at 20:30 (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Comedy Romance History
Episodes ordered: 10 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Accentuate the Positive

Episode 6x10; Jun 21, 1999

When Yvonne witnesses Gary go through the time portal, and the finds a picture of Gary and Phoebe from the 1940s, she's not satisfied with Gary's answer and demands the truth. In 1945, celebrations for VE Day are beginning and future Prime Minister C

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
6x10: Accentuate the PositiveJun 21, 1999
6x09: Flash, Bang, WallopJun 13, 1999
6x08: Something FishieJun 6, 1999
View full episode list »