Breakthrough Prize

The Breakthrough Prize is a set of international awards bestowed in three categories by Breakthrough Prize Board in recognition of scientific advance.

Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences, Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics. These prizes were founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, Yuri Milner and Julia Milner, and Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang. Committees of previous laureates choose the winners from candidates nominated in a process that's online and open to the public. Laureates receive $3 million each in prize money. They attend a televised award ceremony designed to celebrate their achievements and inspire the next generation of scientists. As part of the ceremony schedule, they also engage in a program of lectures and discussions. Those that go on to make fresh discoveries remain eligible for future Breakthrough Prizes.

Previous Episode

Breakthrough Prize 2016

Episode 1x04; Dec 4, 2016

The Breakthrough Prize celebrates achievements in science with a star-studded ceremony.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x04: Breakthrough Prize 2016Dec 4, 2016
1x03: Breakthrough Prize 2015Nov 29, 2015
1x02: Breakthrough Prize 2014Nov 15, 2014
View full episode list »