The Secret History of the British Garden

Monty Don explores the fascinating history and evolution of the British Garden, from the 17th Century through to the Modern Day. Monty's journey will take him to the most famous garden s of the nation, including Ham House, Rousham House, Kew Gardens and Rodmarton Manor in Gloucester. Monty also visits the fabled gardens of Number 10 Downing Street, where the most powerful leaders of the world have walked.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC Two (2015 - now)
Schedule: Sundays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: To Be Determined
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: History
Episodes ordered: 4 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

The 20th Century

Episode 1x04; Dec 13, 2015

Monty concludes his journey through Britain's gardening heritage by looking at the evolution of garden spaces in the past 100 years.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x04: The 20th CenturyDec 13, 2015
1x03: The 19th CenturyNov 29, 2015
1x02: The 18th CenturyNov 22, 2015
View full episode list »