Dear John

Dear John was a British sitcom, written by John Sullivan. Two series and a special were broadcast from 17 February 1986 – 21 December 1987.

This sitcom's title refers to letters - known as "Dear John" letters - from girls to their boyfriends breaking off a relationship. John discovers in the opening episode that his wife is leaving him for a friend, and he is forced to find lodgings. In desperation, he attends the 1-2-1 Singles Club and finds other members mostly social misfits.

In 1988, an American adaptation of Dear John was produced by Paramount for the NBC network. That series lasted for four seasons.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom BBC One (1986 - 1987)
Runtime: 30 minutes
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Comedy

Official site:

(not enough votes yet)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
2x07: Kate Returns (1987 Christmas Special)Dec 21, 1987
2x06: Once BittenOct 12, 1987
2x05: TorquayOct 5, 1987
View full episode list »