Animal Families

Much-loved wildlife expert Michaela Strachan presents the enchanting series that explores family life in the animal kingdom. From elephants to meerkats, the programme investigates how baby animals cope with the world around them. Michaela is joined on her travels by her son, Oliver.

Just like the human world, the animal kingdom is full of families. In this preschool wildlife series, Michaela Strachan sets out across the planet to meet the youngest members of animal families and explore how similar they are to people.

Michaela and her young helpers investigate everything from hairy bears to sea-going penguins. Each programme is themed around a familiar aspect of daily life, such as playing with friends, going to school or having a bath.

Every episode of the series comprises three strands: a story based on the programme's theme, a tactile wildlife tale that introduces children to animals and a soap-opera-style update on an animal family.

Show Info

Airs on: United Kingdom Channel 5 (2009 - 2010)
Schedule: Weekdays at 08:10 (15 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Reality
Genres: Adventure Nature
Episodes ordered: 30 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode


Episode 2x30; Apr 23, 2010

Michaela takes Sophia and Harvey to meet some very curious squirrel monkeys. Then they catch up with a family of lion cubs.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
2x30: ExploringApr 23, 2010
2x29: RollingApr 22, 2010
2x28: ProtectionApr 21, 2010
View full episode list »