Try 30 days of free premium.

Dr. Finlay's Casebook

Dr. Finlay's Casebook is a television series that was broadcast on the BBC from 1962 until 1971.

Based on A. J. Cronin's novella entitled Country Doctor, the storylines centred on a general medical practice in the fictional Scottish town of Tannochbrae during the late 1920s.

The main characters were Dr. Finlay, the junior partner in the practice, played by Bill Simpson, Dr. Cameron, the craggy senior partner, played by Andrew Cruickshank and Janet, their unflappable housekeeper and receptionist at Arden House, played by Barbara Mullen. Other recurrent characters included Dr. Snoddie, Finlay's crusty detractor and Janet's admirer, played by Eric Woodburn and gossipy Mistress Niven (the district nurse), played by Effie Morrison.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC One (1962 - 1971)
Schedule: Sundays (50 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama
Episodes ordered: 16 episodes
Created by: A. J. Cronin

(waiting for more votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
8x16: The Burgess TicketJan 3, 1971
8x15: A Question of ValuesDec 27, 1970
8x14: Itself and FriendDec 20, 1970
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.