Grayson Perry: Rites of Passage

Grayson Perry explores the landmark events in all of our lives--Birth, Coming of Age, Marriage and Death. He works alongside people who are going through those universal experiences with the aim to try and reinvent these rites of passage so he can mark and celebrate them for modern secular Britain.

In a major departure for Grayson, each episode sees him experiencing an extraordinary rite of passage in a number of worldwide societies – journeys well outside his usual comfort zone. These include the beautiful and haunting birth ceremony in Bali, a visceral coming of age ceremony amongst the Tikuna people of the western Amazon, a traditional Shinto wedding in Urban Japan, and the unique death rituals of the Toraja people of Indonesian Sulawesi, involving mummified human corpses and buffalo sacrifice.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom Channel 4 (2018 - now)
Schedule: Thursdays at 22:00 (60 min)
Status: Running
Show Type: Documentary
Episodes ordered: 4 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Coming of Age

Episode 1x04; Sep 13, 2018

In this closing episode, the rite of passage Grayson Perry explores is one with meaning and importance we often struggle to comprehend in modern Britain: coming of age. Grayson travels to the most remote place he's ever visited - deep into the Amazon

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x04: Coming of AgeSep 13, 2018
1x03: BirthSep 6, 2018
1x02: MarriageAug 30, 2018
View full episode list »