Try 30 days of free premium.

The Life of Birds

David Attenborough's epic series uncovers new research into the behaviour of these popular, perfectly adapted, skillul conquerors of the air. In this series, the secrets of birds' great successes comes to light - their remarkable strategies for finding food, their complex social systems, and their ingenious and often bizarre ways of mating and breeding. From high speed aerial hunters and long distance migrants to brilliantly coloured nectar-grazers, the comical and the bizarre, this is the definitive series on birds.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC One (1998 - 1998)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 20:00 (50 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Documentary
Genres: Nature
Episodes ordered: 10 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

The Limits of Endurance

Episode 1x10; Dec 23, 1998

This programme looks at how birds cope with living in some of the harshest and most bizarre places on the planet, looking at the sandgrouse in theNamibian desert, spectacled eiders in the Arctic, a 10,000-strong nesting colony of oilbirds in a Venezu

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x10: The Limits of EnduranceDec 23, 1998
1x09: The Problems of ParenthoodDec 16, 1998
1x08: The Demands of the EggDec 9, 1998
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.

Extra Details

Also known as:
  • David Attenborough - A madarak élete (Hungary Hungary)
  • Жизнь птиц (Russian Federation Russian Federation)
Try 30 days of free premium.