To the Manor Born

Lady Audrey Forbes-Hamilton has fallen on hard times since the death of her husband, Martin. Forced to sell Grantleigh Manor, which has been in her family for 400 years, she graciously adjusts to her new circumstances in The Lodge at the edge of the estate. The Manor is now occupied by supermarket magnate Richard DeVere and his elderly mother. Audrey is annoyed that her position on the estate has been usurped by a man who represents everything Audrey regards as bad taste. It's clearly a love-hate relationship from the beginning, but between foiling DeVere's plans and bringing his ego down a notch or two, Audrey manages to stamp her authority on the running of the Manor while the faint whisper of romance echoes across the way.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC One (1979 - 1981)
Schedule: Sundays (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Comedy
Episodes ordered: 7 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Previous Episode

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
3x07: Back to the ManorNov 29, 1981
3x06: Connections in High PlacesNov 22, 1981
3x05: CosmeticsNov 15, 1981
View full episode list »