Try 30 days of free premium.

The Quatermass Experiment

The Quatermass Experiment is a British science-fiction serial broadcast by BBC Television during the summer of 1953 and re-staged by BBC Four in 2005.

Set in the near future against the background of a British space programme, it tells the story of the first manned flight into space, supervised by Professor Bernard Quatermass of the British Experimental Rocket Group. When the spaceship that carried the first successful crew returns to Earth, two of the three astronauts are missing, and the third is behaving strangely. It becomes apparent that an alien presence entered the ship during its flight, and Quatermass and his associates must prevent the alien from destroying the world.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC One (1953 - 1953)
Schedule: Saturdays at 20:45 (30 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: DramaHorrorScience-Fiction
Episodes ordered: 6 episodes

Official site:

(waiting for more votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

State of Emergency

Episode 1x06; Aug 22, 1953

A state of emergency is declared and the army is brought in. Quatermass plays the creature the rocket tapes and appeals to the last vestiges of humanity left in Carroon to fight what he has become. The creature finally dies, just before it is due to

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: State of EmergencyAug 22, 1953
1x05: An Unidentified SpeciesAug 15, 1953
1x04: Believed to Be SufferingAug 8, 1953
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.