Try 30 days of free premium.

Serial Experiments Lain

Close the World. Open the Next. Decades before the internet was something people carried around in their pockets, these words introduced anime fans to a surreal existence where computer monitors served as portals to brave new worlds. Serial Experiments: Lain and its deceptively "ordinary" title character redefined an entire generation's concept of the world wide web, prompting us all to suspiciously take note of humming power lines and central processing units. Follow along as fourteen year old Lain – driven by the abrupt suicide of a classmate – logs on to the Wired and promptly loses herself in a twisted mass of hallucinations, memories, and interconnected-psyches. Close the World. Open the Next. It's as simple as the flip of a switch.

Show Info

Network: Japan TV Tokyo (1998 - 1998)
Schedule: Mondays (30 min)
Status: Ended
Language: Japanese
Show Type: Animation
Genres: AnimeScience-FictionThriller
Episodes ordered: 13 episodes
Created by: Yoshitoshi Abe

7.2 (17 votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode


Episode 1x13; Sep 28, 1998

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x13: EgoSep 28, 1998
1x12: LandscapeSep 21, 1998
1x11: InfornographySep 14, 1998
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.