Try 30 days of free premium.

The Hollow Crown

The Hollow Crown brings together four filmed adaptations of Shakespeare's History Plays - Richard II, Henry IV parts 1 and 2, and Henry V. Starting in the year 1399, this continuous story of monarchy follows events during sixteen years of dynastic and political power play. Kings, with their families and followers, are threatened by rebellion and conflict. The story takes us from the Royal Court at Westminster to battlefields in England and France. These rich films are woven with the finest of Shakespeare's poetry and are filmed in the architecture and landscape of the period.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom BBC Two (2012 - 2016)
Schedule: Saturdays at 21:00 (120 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: DramaHistory
Episodes ordered: 3 episodes

Official site:

8 (23 votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

Richard III

Episode 2x03; May 21, 2016

At Westminster, Richard speaks about his deformity, the evil plots he has laid, and the decadence at court.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
2x03: Richard IIIMay 21, 2016
2x02: Henry VI Part 2May 14, 2016
2x01: Henry VI Part 1May 7, 2016
View full episode list »


Extra Details

Also known as:
  • The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses (United States United States)
  • Hollow Crown - Rózsák háborúja (Hungary Hungary)
  • Пустая корона (Russian Federation Russian Federation)
Try 30 days of free premium.