Try 30 days of free premium.

The Book of Negroes

Abducted from her village in West Africa, eleven-year-old Aminata Diallo is forced into a slave coffle and must endure a horrific ocean crossing. She is brought to a South Carolina plantation where she makes herself useful by using midwifery skills learned at her mother's side, all the while keeping the attentions of her jealous slave master, Robinson Appleby, at bay. Soon after Aminata reencounters Chekura, a fellow slave from West Africa, they are married in a clandestine ceremony. When their first baby is brutally abducted and sold by Appleby she vows to return one day to her homeland.

Show Info

Network: Canada CBC (2015 - 2015)
Schedule: Wednesdays at 21:00 (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: DramaWarHistory
Episodes ordered: 6 episodes

7.9 (10 votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

Episode 6

Episode 1x06; Feb 11, 2015

Upon their arrival in Africa, Aminata leaves the Loyalists behind to find her way back to her home village of Bayo.

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x06: Episode 6Feb 11, 2015
1x05: Episode 5Feb 4, 2015
1x04: Episode 4Jan 28, 2015
View full episode list »


Extra Details

Also known as:
  • Someone Knows My Name (United Kingdom United Kingdom)
Try 30 days of free premium.