Try 30 days of free premium.

First Among Equals

As in the novel, the series follows the careers and personal lives of four fictional British politicians from 1964 to 1991, with each vying to become Prime Minister. Several situations in the novel are drawn from Archer's own early political career in the British House of Commons. While the novel depitcts the fictional characters interacting with actual political figures from the UK and elsewhere, this adaptation uses different names for the real-life politicians.

The title of both the novel and the serial is a literal translation of the Latin term primus inter pares, a term used to refer to either the most senior member of a group of equals or to refer to someone who claims to be just one member of a group of equals when in reality he or she completely dominates said group. This phrase is used to describe the official constitutional status of the British Prime Minister within his Cabinet.

Show Info

Network: United Kingdom ITV (1986 - 1986)
Schedule: Tuesdays (60 min)
Status: Ended
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Drama
Episodes ordered: 10 episodes

(waiting for more votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Previous Episode

Episode 10

Episode 1x10; Dec 2, 1986

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x10: Episode 10Dec 2, 1986
1x09: Episode 9Nov 25, 1986
1x08: Episode 8Nov 18, 1986
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.