Try 30 days of free premium.

Computer (PC) & Internet Talk

JAGUARDOG wrote 8 years ago: 1

I know I have not said this anywhere on the site so I thought it might be important for me to pass this along? I am 64 years old and even though I have been using a PC and the Internet since 1999 I am still very green. In other words there are tons of things I do not know or understand what they are or how they work. Basically I am Computer illiterate! Here are some examples of what I mean:

HTLM - I think those are the correct initials an order? - No clue how to use this

Tags - What in the Wide Wide World of Sports is a Tag?

# - What is this used for?

Photoshop - No clue how to use that.

weblinks - Excuse me but what the heck is this?

API - What?

RSS - What?

That is just a short list of what I can remember just off the top.

deleted wrote 8 years ago: 1

- HyperText Markup Language, commonly referred to as HTML, is the standard markup language used to create web pages. It is written in the form of HTML elements consisting of tags enclosed in angle brackets

- In information systems, a tag is a non-hierarchical keyword or term assigned to a piece of information (such as an Internet bookmark, digital image, or computer file). This kind of metadata helps describe an item and allows it to be found again by browsing or searching. Tags are generally chosen informally and personally by the item's creator or by its viewer, depending on the system.

Tagging was popularized by websites associated with Web 2.0 and is an important feature of many Web 2.0 services. It is now also part of some desktop software.

- # is a name for the symbol #, which is used for a variety of purposes, including (mainly in Canada and the United States) the designation of a number (for example, "#1" stands for "number one"). In recent years, it has been used for "hashtagging" on social media websites