Try 30 days of free premium.


Based on Ryan O'Connell's part-memoir, part-manifesto ‘I'm Special: And Other Lies We Tell Ourselves,' the hilarious and heartwarming story centers on a gay man with mild cerebral palsy who decides to rewrite his identity as an accident victim and finally go after the life he wants.

Show Info

Web channel: Netflix (2019 - now)
Average Runtime: 23 minutes
Status: Running; returning May 2021
Show Type: Scripted
Genres: Comedy
Episodes ordered: 8 episodes
Created by: Ryan O'Connell

Official site:

6.4 (12 votes)

Try 30 days of free premium.

Next Episode

Episode 1

Episode 2x01; May 20, 2021

Previous Episodes

Episode NameAirdateTrailer
1x08: Chapter Eight: Gay GardensApr 12, 2019
1x07: Chapter Seven: Blind Deaf DateApr 12, 2019
1x06: Chapter Six: Straight PotentialApr 12, 2019
View full episode list »


Try 30 days of free premium.

Extra Details

Also known as:
  • Ein besonderes Lebenq (Germany Germany)
  • Más, mint a többiek (Hungary Hungary)
  • 스페셜 (Korea, Republic of Korea, Republic of)
  • Особенный (Russian Federation Russian Federation)
  • Посебан (Serbia Serbia)
  • 命運寫手 (Taiwan, Province of China Taiwan, Province of China)


View all news »
Try 30 days of free premium.