Iain Glen

Glen was born on 24 June 1961 in Edinburgh, Scotland. Glen has an older brother Hamish Glen who is the artistic director of the Belgrade Theatre, Coventry, and former artistic director of the Dundee Repertory Theatre. Glen was previously married to Susannah Harker from 1993 to 2004 and they have a son Finlay Glen born in 1994. He has been in a relationship with actress Charlotte Emmerson and they have two daughters together; Juliet Glen born 2012 and Mary Glen born 2007. Leaving the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in 1985, having won the prestigious Bancroft Gold Medal, Iain immediately rose to prominence with his acclaimed performance as a charismatic gang leader in The Fear for Euston Films. Followed by his multi award winning tour de force as imprisoned Scottish poet Larry Winters in Silent Scream he was set for a rich and varied career. Few actors have managed to maintain a balance between stage and screen and achieved such success in both. Iain has been described as "The greatest Scottish theatre actor of his generation."

Known For


Cast Credits

Mrs Wilson (2018)
Starring as Alexander 'Alec' Wilson (3 episodes)
Titans (2018)
Guest starring as Bruce Wayne / Batman (2 episodes)
  • Episode 2x02: Rose (Sep 13, 2019) [Special Guest Star]
  • Episode 2x01: Trigon (Sep 6, 2019) [Special Guest Star]
Delicious (2016)
Starring as Leo Vincent (4 episodes)
  • Episode 1x04: Episode 4 (Jan 20, 2017)
  • Episode 1x03: Episode 3 (Jan 13, 2017)
  • Episode 1x02: Episode 2 (Jan 6, 2017)
  • View 1 more
Cleverman (2016)
Starring as Jarrod Slade (12 episodes)
The Red Tent (2014)
Starring as Jacob
Weekend (2014)
Guest starring as Iain Glen
Ripper Street (2012)
Guest starring as Madoc Faulkner
Prisoners' Wives (2012)
Starring as Paul Miller (10 episodes)
Game of Thrones (2011)
Starring as Ser Jorah Mormont (51 episodes)
Guest starring as Iain Glen
Downton Abbey (2010)
Guest starring as Sir Richard Carlisle (6 episodes)
Jack Taylor (2010)
Starring as Jack Taylor
Haven (2010)
Guest starring as Roland Holloway
Strike Back (2010)
Starring as Crawford (2 episodes)
Law & Order: UK (2009)
Guest starring as Luke Slade
  • Episode 1x04: Unsafe (Mar 16, 2009)
The Diary of Anne Frank (2009)
Starring as Otto Frank (5 episodes)
City of Vice (2008)
Starring as John Fielding
Doctor Who (2005)
Guest starring as 2nd Class Bishop Father Octavian (2 episodes)
Glasgow Kiss (2000)
Starring as Stuart Morrison
Wives and Daughters (1999)
Starring as Mr. Preston
Painted Lady (1997)
Starring as Sebastian Stafford
Screen One (1989)
Guest starring as Commander Powell
Agatha Christie's Poirot (1989)
Guest starring as Dr. David Willoughby